"The day when I get in the hotel, I request the room which is better away from the fremont street experience, because the fremont street is very noise, ... " More

By a verified traveller on Thu 30 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel near Fremont Street Experience in Las Vegas

Downtown Las Vegas stay

Within a 10-minute walk of this Downtown Las Vegas hotel, you'll find Fremont Street Experience and Mob Museum. Also, Las Vegas North Premium Outlets is within 2 miles (3 km) and Las Vegas Convention Center is within 6 miles (10 km).


Free parking is available and the hotel's multilingual staff can provide around-the-clock assistance. Relax with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges and enjoy free perks like free self parking and WiFi in public areas. Luggage storage and a safe deposit box are also provided.

Free WiFi, flat-screen TVs

The 122 guestrooms offer flat-screen TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and hair dryers. Phones and free toiletries are also available.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
C$23 per night

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.6 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Everyone (29) Couples (5) Family (1)
3 out of 5
Ancient room, cooling didn't work well, stained comforter, no exhaust in bathroom, water either boiling hot or cold, safe didn't work. And they debited credit card right away in case of damages, with reversal only after 5 days or so. Not happy with our room overall. I do admit though that the hotel was jumping till the early hours.

Posted by on 31 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Feb. 2019 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Dear Guest, I am sadden to hear about your recent stay in one of our historic rooms. Our upgraded rooms and suites may better fit your expectations. As hotel policy we authorize every guest a $100 security deposit upon check in. We hope that you will join us again and allow us to make your next stay.

2 out of 5
good location; very weak wi-fi signal; very small bathrooms; a/c system did not work properly; cigarette smell filtered to top floors;

Posted by on 15 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Jun. 2019 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent stay. We do have larger rooms and suites that are available to upgrade to that may be more to your liking that also has A/C self climate control. Our complimentary wifi is decent but we do have high speed internet for purchase if you did need faster access.Your complete satisfaction is important to us and hopes that you will come back and try us again.

5 out of 5
I loved the fact that I was staying at an historical property and it was central to where all my events were at.

Posted by on 13 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 May 2019 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us such an amazing review. We take pride of our historic property and it's amazing location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will see you again on your next Las Vegas visit.

1 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 May 2019 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Dear Guest, We always love to hear how the hotel could better improve. Please contact us directly so we can address any shortfalls.

1 out of 5
The room had no air conditioning . Room never cleaned all week i have not received my refund from deposit.

Posted by on 3 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Mar. 2019 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Dear Guest, I want to thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry you had a poor experience. All of our rooms have heating as well as air conditioning though many on the classic side of the hotel are not controlled by the guest. We try our best to set the temperature as most convenient to the majority of the visitors and if we know someone is particularly uncomfortable we provide fans or make other accommodations. I am very concerned that your room was dirty and if you have the time please call with me to discuss so we can better set up our cleaning staff for success. Lastly, I am very sorry for the wait on your deposit being returned. When our guests check out we immediately release the deposit. We have found the most effectual way to streamline its return is to talk with your local banker as often they have rules in place that delay such things. I would be pleased if you would give us another try why you visit Downtown Vegas, so we can show you your experience was not our standard.

2 out of 5
Good location on Fremont. Rooms in need of renovation. No gym. No laundry facilities. No business center. No restaurant or even a snack bar/coffee shop. Wondered what the resort fees paid for besides free wi-fi. Good, personable, and polite staff who try to be helpful.

Posted by , from Florida on 4 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Jan. 2019 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Dear Guest. My apologizes, we do our best to communicate to every guest that checks in, that our sister property The D Hotel has a business, fitness center and pool that our guests have full access too. In addition our Resort Fees also include, complimentary parking, Wifi, local and toll free calls. Coffee is available at our Prohibition Bar and our loyalty programs partners with many local restaurants. I am very happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations.

1 out of 5

Posted by on 16 Dec. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Dec. 2018 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Thank you for the time you have taken to review your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

2 out of 5
This hotel did not have AC, it would have been nice to know that up front. We could open our window to get a fairly nice breeze but the downside was the noise until 2am. The room was very small and there are absolutely no extras (i.e pool, room service, spa, gym etc..) so I'm not even sure how they consider this a resort. There isn't even a coffee pot in your room.

Posted by on 20 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Dec. 2018 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

First and foremost, thank you for allowing us to host you during your visit to Las Vegas. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your expectations nor to our standards. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future to provide an experience that is more representative of the Golden Gate.

1 out of 5
We had guaranteed room for late arrival but when we tried to check in, they said the hotel was full!!!! This was paid through Travelocity. They sent us to The D to stay there. Golden Gate charged our credit card even though we did not stay. PLEASE ADVISE! I am contacting our credit card service and hope you will contact Golden Gate. Thank you for your assistance

Posted by , from N C on 15 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
This is an older hotel, with lots of charm! We had a room that overlooked Fremont Street and for us, we enjoyed watching the activities from above as well as being down with the action. The room and bathroom are smaller and the furnishings are in line for the charm of the room. Tiles in the bathroom, bathtub etc... also small and older. They could use some fresh grout and maybe some new locations for the towel bars toilet paper holder and some storage under the sinks. Finding an outlet for charging equipment was a bit challenging as one would expect for an older hotel. The staff was very pleasant and helpful! I would return and enjoy the charm of it all. If you are a picky person and are looking for large elegant accommodations you would be better suited for the Golden Nugget. We have stayed at both and due to the new comp structure at the Golden Nugget or should I say lack of, we have chosen to start checking out other hotels Downtown. Beds were comfy, it was much quieter than I expected being right on Fremont ST., the windows really seal well! Nicely done Golden Gate!

Posted by , from TX on 30 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Dec. 2018 by Golden Gate Hotel Management

Thank you for honest and thorough feedback. We're looking into accomplishing many of these suggestions within the next few years. Thank you for choosing the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino, see you soon!

About the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Location 1 Fremont St, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Property Features

As a guest of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino, you'll find a casino, multilingual staff, and gift shops/newsstands. Public spaces have free WiFi. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges. Golden Gate Hotel and Casino also features a safe deposit box at the front desk, ATM/banking services, and an elevator (lift). Free self parking and valet parking are available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Las Vegas hotel.

  • 122 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • Casino
  • 1 conference room
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Gift shop
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking , Free valet parking


  • Airport: Las Vegas, NV (LAS-McCarran Intl.) (15.9 km / 9.9 mi)
  • Parking: Free valet parking and self parking

Room Amenities

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino offers 122 air-conditioned accommodations with hair dryers and complimentary toiletries. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered daily and irons/ironing boards can be requested.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 3 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21


  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • No pets allowed


Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100 per stay
  • Resort fee: USD 28.25 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Fitness center access
  • Internet access
  • Phone calls
  • Parking
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

Hotel Names