4.4 out of 5

"No coffee pot in the room. Asked for one but it was never delivered. They also closed the beach stuff early. " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 15 May 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4.5-star beach hotel near Lummus Park Beach

Miami Beach retreat

At this South Beach hotel, you'll be well placed to visit Collins Avenue Shopping Area and Espanola Way and Washington Avenue, both within a 5-minute walk. Lincoln Road Mall and Miami Beach Boardwalk are also within half a mile (1 km).

Business services

This hotel features an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a restaurant. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center, express check-out, and valet parking. A poolside bar, a 24-hour front desk, and a bar/lounge are also provided.

IPod docks, flat-screen TVs

In addition to iPod docks, the 186 guestrooms offer 24-hour room service and flat-screen TVs. Other amenities include Frette Italian sheets, safes, and showers.

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
C$159 per night

Room, 1 King Bed, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds (Courtyard)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Premier Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Luxury Suite, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Ocean View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Luxury Suite, 1 King Bed, City View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Everyone (12) Couples (2) Family (1)
2 out of 5
The resort needs some TLC! It's not nearly as beautiful as it looks online. The room I was checked into dint have curtains or working blinds. The room was smaller than it looked online (or maybe it was just the room I was checked into). The television was small, and guest services was not very helpful. I asked to have a phone charger brought to my room (as indicated on the card in the rest room) however; i was told i had to leave my phone at the front desk to be charged. The restaurant is average, but the staff was extremely nice and friendly. I had breakfast there every morning. I took a walk outside by the pool and beach, and I believe the surrounding area was under construction. It was not a terrible experience, but I would explore another option on South Beach.

Posted by on 26 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jul. 2019 by Marc Reid Assst. Front Office Manager

Thank you for your honest and transparent feedback I will make sure to take up your concerns with my management team so we can better the next time around. Have a great day and thanks again.-Marc

5 out of 5
Loved the staff. Very friendly. Wine at check in was a nice touch. Pool and beach are awesome. Close walking to great restaurants and shopping. Only negative was the shower pressure was so low i couldn't get the shampoo out of my hair. Drinks are pricey but so is all of South Beach. The amenities made up for that.

Posted by , from Fargo ND on 28 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Jun. 2019 by Shawnee

Teri, Thank you for sharing your experience here at Surfcomber! Sounds like you and your family has an amazing time! We are super excited to read that you loved our staff as they are very dedicated to WOW everyone. We will have a glass of wine waiting for when you return to the hotel! See you soon

5 out of 5
Good balcony and view of the ocean the room was big and spacious

Posted by on 21 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 May 2019 by Shawnee

Thank you for your review! Our ocean views are a true charm!

5 out of 5

Posted by on 4 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 May 2019 by Shawnee

Thank you so much! Come back soon!

3 out of 5
The property is a very well maintained and pretty facility. My issue was my family had a flight cancellation so we didn’t make it there on our first paid day at the hotel. We called to tell them that and we’re told we would get our room that we had paid for right when we arrived the next morning. When we got there at 9am we were told we werent going to be able to check in until 4pm even though we had paid for the previous day but were unable to make because our flight was cancelled. Very disappointed in how we’re able to get into a room we had paid for after already missing out on an entire day of our vacation due to flight cancellation.

Posted by on 19 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 May 2019 by Shawnee

Ryan, Thank you for your feedback in regards to your visit. We apologize for the reservation issues during your visit.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 12 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Jan. 2019 by Shawnee

Thank you so much for the 5 out of 5!

3 out of 5
Beds were old and lumpy. Hotel staff was friendly at the front desk but the restaurant staff and management were horrible. The wait staff was slow to respond and truly didn’t care. When looped the manager in she did not care either. It was not a vacation experience I had hoped for. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Posted by on 8 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Jul. 2018 by Samar M

thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback with us. We also shared your comments with our F&B team so we can provide a better service.

4 out of 5
No coffee pot in the room. Asked for one but it was never delivered. They also closed the beach stuff early.

Posted by on 15 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 May 2018 by Vanessa

Thank you so much for your recent visit. I am sorry you never received the coffee maker you requested. I will definitely share your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure guests requests are completed. Unfortunately the entire beach is ran by a different company which we do not have control over their hours of operations. However the pool is open 24hrs for your convenience.

5 out of 5
Jonathan at the front desk great help and he whole place staff is incredible couldn't ask for a better hotel up class plus fun and funky great location just a dream and the pool party amazing thanks we loved it

Posted by , from NY on 23 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Mar. 2018 by Anna

Looks Like we nail it from all aspects! we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jonathan and the staff played a crucial part to it. See you soon!!

5 out of 5

Great hotel, superb staff!

Form the moment we entered the hotel, we were greeted with friendly faces and pleasant attitudes. We were checked in by Chase, and it was the quickest check in that we've ever experienced. On our second day, we approached the concierge desk seeking information in regards to local activities. Chase answered all of our questions and recommended great places to eat and visit during our stay. Thanks Chase for making our family vacation enjoyable and fun! We would definitely recommend the Kimpton to anyone looking for a great stay in Miami Beach!

Posted by , from NY on 18 Apr. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Apr. 2017 by Elro Roche- Guest Service Manager

Hi David, Thank you so much for sending us your feedback, we love hearing back from our guests- especially when they had a GREAT stay :) Chase is pretty amazing and I am so happy he was there to make your trip to SoBe fantastic and filled with great memories. While you recommend us, we recommend you back back soon, and please feel free to keep my contact information for the next time you plan to come to the Surfcomber. Until then, safe travels

Property Features

Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel offers its guests an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary bicycles. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a poolside bar and a bar/lounge. A free manager's reception is offered daily. You'll find a business center on site. Tour/ticket assistance, gift shops/newsstands, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the luxury Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel. Parking is available for a fee. This Art Deco Miami Beach hotel is smoke free.

  • 186 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 3 buildings
  • Dining venue
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Cabanas by the pool (surcharge)
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Miami, FL (MIA-Miami Intl.) (19.6 km / 12.2 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel offers 186 accommodations with iPod docking stations and safes. Beds feature Frette Italian sheets and premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include showers. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • IPod dock
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Frette Italian linens
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

The hotel hosts a free manager's reception daily.

Social Club - This restaurant serves breakfast, brunch, dinner, and light fare. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Happy hour is offered.

24-hour room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • Pets are welcome and stay free

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property / stay dates).

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Please note, some room types at this property are not available when booking a stay with children.
  • Debit cards

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 38.76

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 10 and USD 30 for adults, USD 10 and USD 30 for children (approximately)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 46.00 per night (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach
  • Kimpton Surfcomber Miami Beach
  • Kimpton Surfcomber
  • Surfcomber Hotel a Kimpton Hotel

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Key Eco-Rating Program, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.