"Room was large but bed linens and bath room were dirty with and had previous guest's hair upon several surfaces. The mattress was comfortable. The ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 28 Jan 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Enjoy 2 restaurants at this Toms River hotel

In Toms River

At this hotel, you'll be steps from Knuckleheads Comedy Club and within a 10-minute walk of Playdrome Lanes. Ocean County Historical Museum and Ocean County Library are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Multiple dining options

This hotel features 2 restaurants, an indoor pool, and a fitness center. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 2 conference rooms, as well as the business center and free WiFi in public areas. Relax with a drink at the bar/lounge and enjoy free perks like continental breakfast and free self parking.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 96 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Balconies or patios, room service, and coffee/tea makers are also available.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
C$159 per night

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Toms River ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.8 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Toms River

Everyone (17)
3 out of 5

Posted by on 9 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Not good. Amoking room. Requested. A non. Smoking. Poor serviv

Posted by on 30 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on 31 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
OK- where do I start? First of all, the walls are so thin that you can hear the people in the next room having a normal conversation level discussion. Second, the cold water tap at the bathroom sink didn't work at all. Third, the wall paper was peeling off the wall in the room and the bathroom. Fourth, that was NOT a queen size bed and the springs in the bed were broken. Fifth, for a non-smoking room it reeked of cigarette smoke. Sixth, the carpeting had cigarette burn marks in it and so did the plastic bath tub. I could go on about how the TV didn't work right and the other problems, but why bother?

Posted by on 14 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The hotel is great and in a good location, close to everything. Staff is very nice and price is reasonable. This time we stayed in room 114 and for some reason the pillows were shot and so was the matress. I would stay here again but hope it would be more comfortable. I have to say in the past it was comfortable. The room should be checked.

Posted by , from New Jersey on 6 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Good staff and facilities. The breakfast should be somewhat more varied and last for more time (at least 6 to 10 am).

Posted by on 11 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Room looked nothing like the picture...very out-dated. Pillows were flat and uncomfortable. When we asked for extra pillows, only one extra could be found. Pool was very green and not appealing.

Posted by on 29 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Old, smelly worn out hotel

Pros: The pillows
Cons: Renovate the entire hotel and get rid of the night staff
Location: Located in Toms River, NJ 25 mins from the beach.
The hotel had a smell of cigarette smoke-all the way to the room itself. There were signs all over about it being a non-smoking facility but it was evident that the hotel had a past and a total refurbish would be needed to get rid of the smell. The bathroom door did not close and the closet was off track. The hotel was cheesy on the toiletries- only shampoo on the counter. The towels were rough and abrasive. The carpet was dirty and stained, furniture was worn and beat up. The room I had was on the road side and it was evident as I heard the cars go up and down the road all night. The door to the room also had large gaps so I heard anyone walking up and down the hall. When I checked in the hotel it seemed the receptionist was annoyed she had to get up from her desk to attend to me (appox 9pm). She never greeted me nor told me to have a good night. The receptionist in the am was much more friendlier and accommodating.

Posted by , from Myrtle Beach, SC on 15 Jun. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Jun. 2017 by Hotel Staff

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the condition of the hotel and sorry to hear that we did not meet your needs better. Your comments are valuable and will be shared with the team as we continue to work hard to improve our services. Thank you.

4 out of 5
Pros: Bit more quiet, indoor pool, free breakfast
Cons: Upon arrival Room could be cleaner, found hair upon the pillows and within the bathroom offer a better variety of breakfast items mini bagels,
Room was large but bed linens and bath room were dirty with and had previous guest's hair upon several surfaces. The mattress was comfortable. The breakfast lacked variety. The coffee was fair at best. The muffins were small, you would require two and a half muffins to equal the size of a standard muffin. The pool and courtyard were very nice.

Posted by on 28 Jan. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Jan. 2017 by Hotel Staff

We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and apologize that the condition of the guestroom and breakfast was not at our standards and to your satisfaction. We'll address this with the staff in an effort to continually improve upon our services. Thank you for your business and review.

1 out of 5

Awful place to stay

Location: It was only because they took pets and for convenience that we stayed here
Just because we have dogs and paid extra for them and they didn't do damage doesn't mean we should be treated like a stray. The rescue kennel where we got our dogs from was in better shape then the room were were given. I tried to get over the fact that the reviews of this place was terrible and the pictures that were on the website were not of the room we stayed in. Perhaps, they should post, if you have a pet, its not this room its one that hasn't been updated in 30 years.

Posted by , from West Hempstead NY on 10 Oct. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Oct. 2016 by Sarah

We are sorry to hear that our hotel, and the pet friendly accommodations was not what you had expected and you did not have a better experience. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with the hotel in an effort to continue to improve our services.

About the Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Toms River

Location 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753

Property Features

Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Toms River offers its guests an indoor pool and a fitness center. There are 2 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is available daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. You'll find a business center on site. Event space at this hotel measures 1200 square feet (111 square meters) and includes conference space. The business-friendly Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Toms River also features a garden, coffee/tea in a common area, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. Self parking is free.

  • 1 building
  • 96 guestrooms or units
  • 2 dining venues
  • 1200 sq ft of conference space
  • 111 sq m of conference space
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Bar or lounge
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Airport: Savannah, GA (SAV-Savannah - Hilton Head Intl.) (1,240.9 km / 771 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Toms River offers 96 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Cable television is provided. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Toms River hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks, complimentary weekday newspapers, and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • HD television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Weekday newspapers (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 6 AM to 9 AM.

Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham Toms River has 2 restaurants serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 20 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets: USD 50 per pet, per night, plus a deposit of USD 100.00 per stay
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Certain rooms only, restrictions apply
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet deposit: USD 100.00 per stay
  • Pet fee: USD 50 per pet, per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 20 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Howard Johnson Hotel Wyndham Toms River
  • Howard Johnson Wyndham Toms River
  • Howard Johnson Hotel Toms River
  • Howard Johnson Wyndham Toms R

You should know

  • Pool access available from 8 AM to 9 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets are welcome in certain rooms only; other restrictions apply (please see the Fees section for related charges). To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation.