"Location is great if you’re wanting to be close to the action of Midtown and Times Square. Of course that can mean noise at night, from both inside an ... " More

By a verified traveller on Thu 12 Jul 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star hotel near 5th Avenue

Central New York getaway

At this Midtown hotel, you'll be well placed to visit 5th Avenue and Grand Central Terminal, both within a 5-minute walk. St. Patrick's Cathedral and Rockefeller Center are also within half a mile (1 km).

Multiple dining options

This smoke-free hotel features 3 restaurants, a bar/lounge, and a 24-hour health club. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center, express check-in, and valet parking. There's a rooftop terrace on site, and a 24-hour front desk and a hair salon are also provided.

WiFi, flat-screen TVs

Guestrooms have flat-screen TVs with cable channels and offer WiFi and room service. Premium bedding, hair dryers, and safes are also available.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Cozy)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
C$133 per night

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Junior Suite, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite (Madison)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City

Everyone (135) Couples (2) Business (1) Students (1) Family (2)
2 out of 5
Beautiful old hotel that is not being taken care of and amenities are scarce. Rusting door frames from showers that run all over the floor. No blankets, extra pillows, etc in our room. No fridge, micro, or coffee maker. No coffee or water offered anywhere in the lobby.

Posted by , from Helena, AL on 14 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Jan 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Dear Kathy, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear we fell short in meeting your expectations. I will mention that we can provide coffee machines by request and fridges can be rented for $25/day. Every morning from 6:30 am - 11:30 am in Madison Club Lounge we serve coffee, juices, yogurt, cereals. We are sorry you missed it! We hope on a future visit to NYC, you'll consider giving us another opportunity to host you!

4 out of 5
Lovely old New York feel, but doors could use better soundproofing from the hallway

Posted by on 10 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jan 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Dear Victoria, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate guest insight. We do have plans for a guest room renovation and will share your comment to management. We hope to host you again soon!

2 out of 5
Hotel over all nice, but older. Air was broken, called front desk and they sent a repairman that just opened our window and told us that should help. When you pay $300 a night and you don’t have air and you are told to open the window when it’s freezing outside and you are in a tall New York building that’s a problem. We dealt with it, but not happy about it.

Posted by on 7 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jan 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We completely understand that your situation was not acceptable and was not handled properly. Rest assured, your experience will be shared with our General Manager's office in our continual effort to improve guest satisfaction.

5 out of 5
Everyone was very nice, the hotel was beautiful! Very central located. Elevators were hard to get on of a morning had to take stairs.

Posted by on 2 Jan 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Jan 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Dear Mark, Thank you for your perfect review! We are glad you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back again soon!

1 out of 5
The hotel is beautiful when you walk in. That is where it ends... First, the safe would not work, and we waited 2 hours for someone to fix it. The bathroom floors were gross. The hair dryer did not work and we call on it to bring us a new one. Day 2 still no hairdryer, so we called again. Day three, got in late and noticed human poop on the comforter. T^he next morning asked them to replace it. The next morning when we woke up, found out they did not replace it but turned the comforter and the poop was in my husbands face. When we checked out I told the person that they should talk to housekeeping. He rudely said, "Well if it is a discount you want you will have to talk to the manage and he is busy." To which I replied, "I do not want a discount, I want you to have a talk with your housekeeping department." When I went upstairs to get our luggage I saw the maid and explained it to her about the comforter. She replied," This usually is not my floor and we are so busy and we do not have any extra comforters, but I will see what I can do." REALLY.... sorry for the next person in that room.

Posted by on 31 Dec 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Jan 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your review. We are disappointed to hear that your did not have an enjoyable stay. It seems as though our customer service and housekeeping fell short. Rest assured your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping and General Manager's office in our effort to improve.

3 out of 5
Great location, beautiful building. Bathrooms do not have anywhere for you to put your things, no counter top. Also, i realize this is an old, historic building and they want to keep that look however in the bathrooms, the old wallpaper is peeling and looks nasty. Terribly long wait for elevators in the morning. If you're trying to bring luggage down at 10am, forget it. Your family will have to split up to get in an elevator.

Posted by on 31 Dec 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jan 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We regret to see we didn't meet your expectations. We do have plans for guest room renovation in the coming months which will of course include a reconfiguring of our bathrooms. Your feedback will be shared with our General Manager's office in our effort to improve guest satisfaction, and we hope on a future trip to NYC, we'll have the opportunity to host you again!

1 out of 5
Worst experience, I paid for a 2 beds room they gave me 1 bed room, crowded all times elevators dont work, rude staff, never again.

Posted by on 30 Dec 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Dec 2018 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Dear Nereida, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear we fell short in meeting your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with our management as we continually look to improve the guest experience.

2 out of 5
The Roosevelt is in tough location in the city. The sections of 45th street is very short an it is next to a taxi stand so there is a very short run up to valet and it takes for ever. The check in is always a long line that takes for ever. The room was small and “tired”. The bathroom was tiny an the only shelf was small and loose so whatever you put on it fell. When you go to get your car from the valet you have to go down to the main desk wait on the very long line of people checking in and get your ticket validated. Took over an hour to get our car from the valet. Except for the door men, who were excellent. The staff was average at best

Posted by on 30 Dec 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Dec 2018 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to see we didn't meet your expectations. Please know your feedback will be shared with our General Manager's office in our continual effort to improve guest satisfaction.

4 out of 5
The hotel room was okay. The lobby and service were great.

Posted by on 30 Dec 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Dec 2018 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us, and received great service. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again soon!

1 out of 5
Poor service! The room wasn’t very clean and the hotel was over crowded. I had to wait 25 minutes for an elevator.

Posted by on 30 Dec 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Dec 2018 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to see we didn't meet your expectations. Please know your feedback will be shared with our General Manager's office in our continual effort to improve guest satisfaction.

About the The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City

Location 45 E 45th Street, New York, NY 10017

Property Features

There are 3 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You'll find a business center on site. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. Event space at this hotel measures 29999 square feet (2787 square meters) and includes conference space. A 24-hour health club, a rooftop terrace, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City. Parking is available for a fee. This 4-star New York hotel is smoke free.

  • 19 levels
  • 3 dining venues
  • 29999 sq ft of conference space
  • 2787 sq m of conference space
  • Bar or lounge
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Front-desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: New York, NY (LGA-LaGuardia) (14.7 km / 9.1 mi)
  • Train station: New York Grand Central Terminal Station (1.4 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Metro station: Grand Central - 42 St. Station (0.4 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Air-conditioned accommodations at The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City offer safes and hair dryers. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Refrigerators and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator available
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs available
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City has 3 restaurants on site.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 35.00 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

This property will place an authorization at check-in for the entire length of stay and incidental charges for any bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50.00 per day
  • Resort fee: USD 40.16 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Fitness center access
  • Internet access
  • Phone calls
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: USD 28 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 19.95 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 19.95 per night (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 72 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 35.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.