4.3 out of 5

"Short stay in Toronto in a family trip First time for some of us, The location of the hotel is close to several city land marks, and touristic attra ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 26 Nov 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

The Grand Hotel & Suites Toronto puts you in the center of Toronto, 2.3 km (1.5 mi) from Canadian Broadcasting Centre and 2.4 km (1.5 mi) from University of Toronto. Highlights at this hotel include a full-service spa, a restaurant, and an indoor swimming pool.

LCD TVs with DVD players are featured in all 177 rooms, and you can enjoy free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and free newspapers. Kitchenettes come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves, and 24-hour room service is also available. Nice touches to enhance your stay include bathrobes and designer toiletries, while pillowtop beds and premium bedding invite a good night's rest. Free local calls, free bottled water, and safes are also available.

A day of pampering can include facials and body treatments. For a drink, you can stop by the hotel's own bar/lounge. Enjoy the fitness center, spa tub, and sauna. Business travelers can take advantage of a conference center, a meeting room, and a business center. Plus you'll find free WiFi in public areas and a coffee shop/café. Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is available. There's also valet parking, along with the convenience of a free area shuttle.

Attractions within a 30-minute walk of this 4-star Downtown Toronto hotel include Hockey Hall of Fame and Air Canada Centre.

Deluxe Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$191 per night

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Grand Double Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

The Grand Hotel & Suites Toronto ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5

Convenient location downtown Toronto

Pros: Location Value for money Quality breakfast
Cons: Although the interior design is trendy, it was evident that the hotel would benefit from having a stronger maintenance department, attention to detail
Location: Financial and Distillery Districts Eaton shopping mall CN Tower / Acquarium
Short stay in Toronto in a family trip First time for some of us, The location of the hotel is close to several city land marks, and touristic attractions.

Posted by , from Monterrey, Mexico on 26 Nov 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Hotel looks great from the lobby but....

Pros: The pool and the hot tubs. I loved how the played 80's music videos on a huge projector screen on the rooftop by the hot tubs.
Cons: Plumbing. Loose fixtures. Room service. Friendliness of some of the staff (not the valets). Gift shop was awful and the person working there.
Location: Location is close to small resturrants and places to see. 4 or 5 block walk to subway and Eaton Center entrance. Shuttle will take you to some places
The hotel looked really fancy and nice from the entrance all the way into the lobby but the room was lacking. There were a whole lot of little things that really made this trip disappointing. The room was nice and the suite was very large. The two bedroom was a really nice way for us to go. None of the doors in the room fit right. It was like the doors were all out of balance. Even the room door was so far out of whack that the deadbolt could not be used. Fit and finish in the room was really poor. The fixtures were loose and the lighting was extremely dim. There were quite a few lights in all the rooms but it was still really dim. The room was clean but there were lots of little things like small holes in the sheets and no wastebaskets in any room except the kitchen and bathroom. Very strange. The worst part of the experience was the fact that the toliet was always plugging up whenever anyone used it including my 6 year old and 10 year old. The hotel's response was "well just keep calling us to unplug it." First off that's embarrassing and secondly it's a pain to call all the time. Fix the plumbing!!!! The other really poor experience is how we were treated for room service. The first morning we ordered room service and were served muffins, small creusants, and a half full (maybe) pitcher of coffee which was simply a bowl of things taken off the free buffet. A waiter simply went over to the free buffet and grabbed some things and then charged us $25.

Posted by , from USA on 6 Apr 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Great room and staff but not close to downtown

Pros: Elegance
Cons: The location which the hotel can't affect wasn't the best
Location: Little to do within walking distance from the hotel
The room was clean and spacious and the staff helpful; the breakfast had good quality and selection, our only negative is the hotel was farther from downtown Toronto that we would have liked

Posted by , from Leesburg, VA on 24 Jan 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Very nice

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel! It's very nice. Staff were excellent and even the staff carried our bags up the front steps. There is a wonderful breakfast buffet where the staff seat you in a nice area around the bar and outside patio. Also, the top aminities include the rooftop jacuzzi and pool on the lower level. Overall, you won't be disappointed!

Posted by , from B on 23 Jan 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

The Granh Hotel Toronto

Everyone was so helpful and thoughtful. The hot tub on the roof had a gorgeous view of the city and a huge screen to watch music videos as you relaxed. Breakfast buffet was more than exceptional. The hotel was within walking distance of all the sights or typu could catch a streetcar right on the corner. The hotel was immaculate and always lots of bell hops to direct you wherever you needed to go. I will definitely stay there next time in Toronto.

Posted by , from m on 21 Nov 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Nice hotel that wasn't overrun with guests.

Pros: Boutique feel in a larger hotel, breakfast buffet included, kitchenette in room, rooftop hot tubs.
Cons: My only complaint was that our bathroom sink was pretty stopped up and drained very slowly.
We had a nice stay/experience at the Grand Hotel and Suites. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the included daily breakfast buffet was a nice perk. The 2 open-air hot tubs on the roof were also a nice feature. The neighborhood was a little sketchy (especially at night) as there were several homeless shelters within a few blocks of the hotel, but we didn't have any issues and only walked around outside during the daytime. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Posted by , from Cincinnati, OH on 28 Oct 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Bad location and unfriendly staff

Pros: Totally disappointed in the hotel, we have travelled to Iceland, Las Vegas, Cuba, Japan, and other places, this was indeed our first bad experience.
Cons: Staff need to be trained. Very unmannerly and rude staff at breakfast.
Location: Location is in BAD area, please do more research.
The purpose of this is to ensure you make the right decision before you book this hotel. 1. Location: The reason we chose this hotel is because we selected free wifi and free breakfast as desired amenities, the location is BAD. As you leave hotel for a walk you will be quickly approached by homeless people or for cash or cigarettes. This happened often and the area behind the hotel is known (not to us initially) to be hot spots for drugs and prostituion. We hired a driver to take us to airport and he was asking why we chose this hotel and he confirmed that it is indeed in a bad area. Please do more research before you book this hotel. 2. Unpleasant staff: The waiters working for breakfast don't seem to happy to be there, there was one person in particular who was very unfriendly and lacked manners when we said good morning. He refused to answer and right behind us he quickly said good morning to another hotel guest. Half way through breakfast he threw the receipt/room info form on the table and said nothing. Breakfast was not enjoyable with this kind of attitude. Also the meat options are only PORK, no chicken, turkey or beef. We mentioned to front desk that they should consider including more meat choices and one lady told us "the breakfast is complimentary, if you don't wish to take part you don't have to, you can go buy breakfast outside" WOW, what a response! 3. The blinds in the room did not close all the way and light came in, interrupting sleep.

Posted by , from Trinidad and Tobago on 21 Jun 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Great Hotel

Pros: Great room
It was our first time staying at this hotel. The hotel was outstanding and the staff was fantastic.

Posted by on 18 Apr 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5


Pros: Staff, roof top hot tubs
Cons: Updating the rooms
Location: Near attractions, walking distance but a little sketchy
We expected a four star experience for our anniversary. We researched conveniently located hotels with nice amenities. While the hotel lobby, restaurant, and roof top hot tub were nice, the room was very disappointing. We stayed in a one bedroom suite but it was very dated...not like the pictures. It was clean but old and poorly lit. The hotel is close to attractions but is in a sketchy neighborhood. Overall...disappointing.

Posted by , from New York on 8 Dec 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Good Enough

Pros: Overall hotel experience was good
Cons: there is no wifi, pillows in the room are very poor quality, rooms feel a bit cluttered due to poor design
Location: Good location close to the distillery district, CN Tower, and st. Lawrence Market
Pros: hot tubs on the rooftop, great view from the rooftop, warm swimming pool, kitchen units in rooms(not tea bags in the room), friendly staff, parking cost only $20/night, free breakfast (it's very poor quality, but it's still a plus). Cons: wifi is not working, pillows are very hard and uncomfortable

Posted by on 30 Nov 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

About the The Grand Hotel & Suites Toronto

Location 225 Jarvis St, Toronto, ON M5B2C1

Property Features

The Grand Hotel & Suites Toronto offers its guests a full-service spa, an indoor pool, and a spa tub. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is available. Public spaces have free WiFi and wired Internet. Business amenities include a business center, limo/town car service, and a meeting room. A fitness center, a sauna, and a rooftop terrace are also featured at the business-friendly The Grand Hotel & Suites Toronto. For a fee, parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Toronto hotel.

  • 1 building
  • 177 guestrooms or units
  • 18 levels
  • Breakfast available (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Kitchenette
  • Free area shuttle
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet


Long-term parking (surcharge) , Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: Toronto, ON (YYZ-Pearson Intl.) (28.5 km / 17.7 mi)
  • Train station: Toronto Union Station (1.9 km / 1.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle
  • Parking: Valet parking, self parking, and extended parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Grand Hotel & Suites Toronto offers 177 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and laptop-compatible safes. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. LCD televisions are featured in guestrooms. Accommodations at this 4-star hotel have kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, bathrobes, designer toiletries, and complimentary toiletries. This Toronto hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and complimentary newspapers, as well as phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and hair dryers. Housekeeping is offered daily and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Pillowtop beds
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • HD television
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free hot/cold buffet breakfast.

The Grand Hotel & Suites Toronto has a restaurant on site.

24-hour room service is available.

Spa Services

  • Body treatments
  • Facial treatments


If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21


  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 16 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • Pets: CAD 50 per accommodation, per stay
  • Maximum 1 per room (weight limit: 20 lb)


This property does not accept debit cards. For more details, please contact the office using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: CAD 22.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Valet parking fee: CAD 32.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Pet fee: CAD 50 per accommodation, per stay
  • Late check-out fee: CAD 29

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

You should know

  • Children 16 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.