"I would recommend this hotel for its location. We were within walking distance of everything downtown Banff. I would not recommend this hotel for comf ... " More

By Jackinthebox7 on Fri 02 Mar 2012

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3-star ski hotel near Mount Norquay Ski Resort

City center stay

Stay at this Banff hotel and you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Central Park and 2 miles (3 km) of Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity. Cave and Basin National Historic Site and Tunnel Mountain are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Free breakfast

This hotel features a fitness center and a sauna. Enjoy the ski shuttle and onsite ski storage. Families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities and supervised childcare.

Free WiFi, cable TV

The 77 guestrooms offer free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and cable TV. Hair dryers, phones, and ironing boards are also available.

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
C$219 per night

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed (Loft)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed (Brewster)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Brewster's Mountain Lodge ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Everyone (2)
1 out of 5

fair rating

Pros: Free breakfast
Cons: beds uncomfortable, sheets like cardboard
The location is great. The bed were horrible and the sheets felt like cardboard. The hotel was noisy and they started vac'g outside our room at 7am. Wont stay there again.

Posted by , from Calgary, AB, Canada on 27 Apr. 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Convenient Location

Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Poor breakfast
I would recommend this hotel for its location. We were within walking distance of everything downtown Banff. I would not recommend this hotel for comfort. Old school tvs in the rooms; no connections for gaming stations or Ipads. The "free" continental breakfast consisted of toast and yogurt...mmmm....

Posted by on 2 Mar. 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

This hotel has a terrific location.

Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, great location
Cons: no pool
We stayed at the Brewster Mountain Lodge for 6 nights July, 2011. The location is excellent as it is right in the middle of the main town of Banff. Our check-in was easy and the staff, very pleasant. We had a charming room situated on a courtyard and it was very quiet. The room does not have air conditioning, but fans are provided. It was not an issue as the weather during our stay was on the cool side. The room does not have a small fridge, which seems standard in most other hotels and we could have used one, so it would be great if they were installed. The other small issue was that there were two queen size beds, but they each had different mattresses. One was new and very comfortable and the other was old and not comfortable at all. I think they should have been replaced at the same time as it doesn't seem fair for guests in one bed to be uncomfortable when the other guests have a great pillow-top bed! The hotel has a very quirky set up as far as the room locations and can be confusing, but that never bothered us and we were able to get around easily. Others have written on the difficulty of getting to the breakfast room, but it really isn't a problem. Also, it is located in the basement, but despite that, it is a pleasant enough room to eat a quick breakfast. The selection of food at breakfast is sufficient and abundant. It has a lovely spa area including a hot tub and sauna. There are also laundry facilities. There is on-site parking, although a fee of $5.00 is charged per day. However, that is very nominal and did not bother us. All in all, I would recommend this hotel. I like the fact that it is a family-run hotel and the decor seems suitable to the surroundings - very natural with all the pine.

Posted by , from Winnipeg on 5 Oct. 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on 1 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2019 by Patrick

We hope you enjoyed your stay and time in Banff

2 out of 5

Sub Par Experience

The property is in a great location, walking distance to everything in Banff. However, it is very noisy. Because there is no air conditioning the room was airless, so we had to have the windows open. There were intoxicated people yelling at all hours and loud vehicles zooming by, so much so that it was difficult to sleep. The staff were polite but not at all helpful. They neglected to tell us that there was a fee for parking. The elevator was broken 50% of the time. I would not recommend this hotel.

Posted by on 11 Jun. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Jan. 2015 by

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Like most hotels in the area, we do not offer air conditioning but do provide fans in all of our rooms. We did have an issue at the end of May with our elevator going out of service for a couple of days but it has been working without problems since being fixed. We apologize that you did not find the staff to be helpful and will pass along your comments to the Front Desk Supervisor for further review. Kind Regards, Staff and Management

5 out of 5

Location was wonderful.

Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
Our time at Brewsters Lodge great. . The location in the middle of town was perfect. We were able to walk to many resturants and shops. We really liked the heated garage although our SUV was a little large for some of the spaces. The breakfast was good and the room was very clean.

Posted by , from Missouri on 13 Apr. 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

This place needs an update.

Pros: public area atmosphere, staff
Cons: Noisy, Poor breakfast
We stayed here for a night in the off season and basically found the atmosphere fun if you are looking for that rustic log cabin feel. However the room amenities were average at best. We didn't get a chance to try out the pool area so cannot comment on that. The complimentary breakfast area left something to be desired and the food was very average even considering it was the of the "free with your room variety". The room also was subject to more street noise than we would have liked. All of this would have been acceptable if it was more of a discount price. It was just not good enough quality for the money.

Posted by , from Calgary, Alberta on 8 Feb. 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

vacation

No AC, very noise, limited packing spots and very small packing space.

Posted by on 1 Aug. 2010

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

hotel problems

no air, very noisy and they had 20 parking spots and sold 25 parking spots, dont know what they are doing, must be better places to stay

Posted by on 17 Jul. 2010

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

great location

the location was great and the parking for $*/day reasonable and convenient (although there is a free parking garage one block away.) It was great to be right downtown, the breakfast was fine and the room clean. the only drawback was the room over the alley was very noisy with bar noise at 2am and garbage trucks at 6am. the homemade cookies in the afternoon was a nice touch!

Posted by on 30 Jun. 2010

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Location 208 Caribou Street, Banff, AB T1L 1C1

Property Features

After a day on the slopes, enjoy use of the hotel's facilities like a fitness center and a sauna. This hotel's ski shuttle (surcharge) will get you to the slopes in no time. Brewster's Mountain Lodge helps provide the perfect ski vacation with ski storage and shopping on site. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star Banff hotel.

  • 1 building
  • 77 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Built in 1996
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Ski equipment storage
  • Business facilities
  • 1 conference room
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Library
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Calgary, AB (YYC-Calgary Intl.) (137.8 km / 85.6 mi)
  • Train station: Banff Station (0.7 km / 0.4 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Ski shuttle
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Brewster's Mountain Lodge offers 77 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Cable television is provided. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and complimentary toiletries.

  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Cribs (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (heating)

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a sauna and a fitness center.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Parking height restrictions apply

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: CAD 100.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for wired Internet in public areas: CAD 5.25 (for 30 minutes, rates may vary)
  • Self parking fee: CAD 5.25 per night (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names