Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"I loved the short walk to downtown Solvang. There is no elevator and you must go outside to walk upstairs to get inside to go to your room from an ou ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 15 Apr 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel perfectly located for exploring Solvang

Heart of Solvang

Within a 5-minute walk of this Solvang hotel, you'll find Hans Christian Andersen Park and Wildling Museum. Solvang Brewing Company and Solvang Festival Theater are also within half a mile (1 km).

Renovated in 2018

A casino and an outdoor pool are featured at this smoke-free hotel. Enjoy the spa tub and free perks like continental breakfast and free self parking. Free WiFi in public areas, a picnic area, and express check-out are also on offer.

Jetted tubs, free WiFi

Boasting jetted bathtubs, the 39 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and pillowtop beds. LCD TVs come with cable channels, and other amenities include sofa beds and refrigerators.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
C$154* Per night/room 6 Aug. - 7 Aug.

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Jacuzzi Suite King Bed Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Kronborg Inn ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.1 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kronborg Inn

Everyone (6) Couples (1) Family (2)
1 out of 5
This property is deceiving, don't be fooled by their website... Our room was almost $400 (it was a queen jr. suite, which it barely qualified as). It was on the ground level facing the parking lot with noisy traffic all night right outside the window. It was dirty (hair on the floors), extremely dated, the pull-out couch was barely sleepable and looked like it was from a used college dorm room, the fridge was super loud and the whole place was dank and dark. When I spoke with staff on check out they didn't care and did nothing for us. Plan ahead and don't stay here.

Posted by on 23 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
People calling this place the best hotel they've ever seen are lying. Back to reality and first the good: The rooms have been fairly decently modernized given incredibly old structural bones that are worthy of demolition. There are holes along the floor lines giving rodents easy access. Also, the housekeeping crew is good. Our room was clean. But there are at least seven major glaring problems with this hotel. One: The door to the room doesn't fit the frame. That means at the bottom there is almost an inch gap where people can see into the room and, actually worse, intensely loud winds races through, creating a consistent loud horror movie sound. Two: The carpet is disgustingly dirty and should have been replaced years ago. Three: When we arrived, the two locks on the sliding glass door for rear entry were both unlocked. Four: The property's Jacuzzi touted in their ads was not only broken but loaded with disgusting water you'd expect in a sewer. Five: When wild occupants later arrived in the next room, we discovered the existence of near paper-thin walls, hearing for hours yelling, screaming, cussing and partying. Six: Seeking refuge from that hell, we approached the 30-something man at the front desk to move to a more quiet room. He was rude and unsympathetic, cutting us off with a stern no without even asking us about our concerns. Seven: The owners must be laughing all the way to the bank. We ended up paying almost $270 for a room that, at best, was worth $89.

Posted by on 22 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
I loved the short walk to downtown Solvang. There is no elevator and you must go outside to walk upstairs to get inside to go to your room from an outside hall

Posted by on 15 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed my check in. Sam was working at the front desk and he was so helpful, I told him I will be here for half a day and he suggested to me a great game plan for visiting this beautiful and generous town. Highly recommended! Don’t forget to bring a great attitude! It is contagious and the people around you will feel the energy and treat it as such!

Posted by on 18 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Friendly staff! Close to shops and restaurants! Enjoyed the breakfast.

Posted by on 21 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Everything seems a little 'tired' at the Kronborg Inn. With summer room rates as high as they get in the Solvang area, we were expecting a little more.

Posted by on 30 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Didnt get the hotel i payed for i payed for

Rude front desk worker Payed 200 for room with balcony got there and front desk worker said he has no room available with balcony

Posted by on 27 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Lisa W.

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent booking with us. When guests book through third party companies the reservations/room types are not always guaranteed to come through to us correctly. We are very sorry you were affected by this, as it is not common at all but can happen. We always like to advise guests to make the reservations directly with us or call the hotel to confirm their room type. Thank you very much!

2 out of 5

Broken bathroom

We checked in late and found that are toilet was broken It ran all night... and we actually had to use the outside bathrooms when I told the lady at the front desk our situation and asked for a discount she said we should have said something earlier they could have changed our rooms . She was extremely rude. There was trash in the hallway. Not happy especially with the rate we had to pay.

Posted by on 2 Nov. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Very comfortable room in great location.

Pros: Overall comfort and location with all the amenities.
Cons: Cabinetry that housed the refrigerator and microwave made it difficult to use the freezer and frig (tight configuration), but kept things tidy & quiet
Location: The Mole Hole, Carriage House, Thumbalina's, Paula's Pancakes, and Ace Hardware in Solvang. Hitching Post for dinner and Chumash Casino as well.
Would definitely stay here again on next trip to Solvang. The beds are super comfortable. I asked for an easy access room for my Mom as she uses a walker. Both my Mom and sister have health issues and the two queen configuration worked out perfectly for we 3 adult ladies to share a night while we were out celebrating my birthday. The continental breakfast was very nice as well.

Posted by , from Simi Valley, CA on 5 Sep. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Nice and okay

When we arrived our room door was wide open. The room was on the first floor and people walking pass our room could easily see into our room.

Posted by on 17 Aug. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

Kronborg Inn offers its guests an outdoor pool and a spa tub. WiFi is free in public spaces. Free breakfast is served daily. A casino, multilingual staff, and a picnic area are also featured at Kronborg Inn. Self parking is free. A complete renovation of Kronborg Inn was completed in January 2018. This Solvang hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 39 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Built in 1977
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Casino
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Sofa bed
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Santa Barbara Municipal Airport (SBA) (62.1 km / 38.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Kronborg Inn offers 39 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature DVD players and coffee/tea makers. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. 42-inch LCD televisions come with premium cable channels. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations with jetted bathtubs, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Solvang hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • Jetted tub
  • Pull-out sofa bed
  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 7:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 11:00 AM - 7:00 PM. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 11:00 AM - 7:00 PM.
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Guests who may encounter issues with stairs should contact this property in advance. Elevators are not available.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests.Contactless check-out is available.

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guest stays

Hotel Names

  • Kronborg Inn Hotel
  • Kronborg Inn
  • Kronborg Inn Solvang
  • Kronborg Solvang
  • Kronborg Hotel Solvang
  • Kronborg Motel Solvang
  • Kronborg Inn Solvang
  • Kronborg Inn Hotel Solvang

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing http://www.travelocity.ca/Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Kronborg-Inn.h19199-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Kronborg-Inn.h19199-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.ca/Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Kronborg-Inn.h19199-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.