4.2 out of 5

"Beautiful hotel, very clean, close to many great places, and the absolute friendliest staff! " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 06 Jul 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4.5-star luxury hotel near Independence Hall

Central Philadelphia getaway

At this Old City hotel, you'll be well placed to visit Independence Hall and Liberty Bell Center, both steps away. Penn's Landing and Independence National Historical Park are also within half a mile (1 km).

Business services

The hotel's 24-hour fitness center, a rooftop terrace, and 2 bars/lounges are among the featured amenities. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center, express check-out, and valet parking. A restaurant, a 24-hour front desk, and concierge services are also provided.

IPod docks, WiFi

Boasting comforts like Frette Italian sheets and down comforters, the 268 guestrooms also offer iPod docks and LCD TVs with cable channels. 24-hour room service, WiFi, and minibars are also available.

Standard Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
C$176 per night

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Everyone (9) Couples (1) Family (2)
5 out of 5

Beautiful surroundings. Happy staff.

Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: pricey parking
Not only is the hotel lovely but there is a wine hour every night from 5-6 in the lobby. Good wines too. The hotel is quiet even tho' centrally located. However parking was an additional $40/ day while we could have parked a block away for $24/day. Very good food in the Red Owl Cafe served by ever-smiling staff.

Posted by , from Canada on 21 Nov. 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Great location, nice restaurant and bar on property, Also the free cocktail hour every night was good. But I was surprised to have to pay daily for WiFi, we have stayed many places and never had to pay for WiFi.

Posted by on 11 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Although there is a refrigerator but No coffee machine in room. Or microwave

Posted by on 25 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Mar. 2019 by Katie

Thank you for your feedback! We do have coffee makers and microwaves available upon request, so next time you come just give us a call :)

5 out of 5
Great location and excellent service. Park biew room was really nice

Posted by on 23 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Mar. 2019 by Katie

I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy the gorgeous view. Come again soon!

5 out of 5
It was within walking distance of the locations of business I was doing.

Posted by on 4 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Feb. 2019 by Kimpton Hotel Monaco

I am glad we are in a Location convenient to your place of business. We look forward to having you stay with us again .

3 out of 5
I booked and paid for 2 king spa suites... the rooms were very small with a view of a wall and windows out of the only window in the room. When I booked the rooms I requested the king spa suites with a view . Ya not what I got and the room I had got for myself smelled . I asked to be put into another room and they tried to down grade my room type! Also, it was very busy in the lobby with people not associated or staying with the hotel because of the roof top lounge with a bunch of drunks hanging around . The hotel catered more to outside guests for the restaurant and lounge instead of their guests. I would most definitely not choose to Stay at this hotel again. No wifi, coffee is only available in the restaurant, very basic accommodations..... but I do have to say that the Greeting for the doormen was excellent, probably the best thing about that hotel!

Posted by on 16 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan. 2019 by Tashna Seaton-Small

Thanks for the review and the detailed feedback. We'll use it to improve future stays.

5 out of 5

Exceptional!

Beautiful hotel, very clean, close to many great places, and the absolute friendliest staff!

Posted by , from Binghamton, NY on 6 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2018 by Jeanne Quinn

Jared - Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Monaco! We truly appreciate you taking the time out to provide such great feedback about your stay! I am glad that we were able to make you feel at home. We hope you come back to visit us soon!

5 out of 5

Relaxing and peaceful

Pros: Everything especially the staff. Roschid who worked the front desk was a gem to us. He gave us great advice and even helped us get a bus tour!
Cons: The restaurant was ok but the Thanksgiving desert was blah. Keep it simple!
Location: Love that the hotel was centrally located in the city!
My Mom wanted an escape because this was our first Thanksgiving without my Dad who died 5 weeks ago. The staff was caring and very attentive. We loved our room esoecially the comfortable beds. The livlieness of the colors in the bedrooms made our stay vibrant. We got a kick out of seeing the book, “Alice in Wonderland”in our room. My Mom thought it was a Bible but when we looked closer and saw it was “Alice in Wonderland,” we giggled.

Posted by , from Washington, DC on 26 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Alicia

Jennifer, thank you for your great feedback. We are so glad you and your mother could stay at The Monaco with us for the holiday. We are happy to see that the liveliness of the hotel was able to make your stay feel that much more lively after your loss. We look forward to your return for another special stay.

3 out of 5

Extremely Close to All Historic Sites

Pros: Convention literature
Cons: Getting the room that we booked through Travelocity; we were promised a wheelchair accessible bathroom double bed room.
Did not get the Handicap Accessible Room as Booked. Either or could have the double that we needed or a king for 3 people that was accessible. Unfortunately, I was not not able to bathe or shower during our stay. I had only to clean up very uncomfortable. Part of my stay was very uncomfortable!!!

Posted by , from Pittsburgh on 14 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Aug. 2017 by Kayla

SNZ I'm terribly sorry to hear that you did not get the room that you requested or needed while you were here. As much as I cannot take back the hands of time and change what happened, I do hope that we ensure a smoother stay at the hotel if you ever find yourself back in Philadelphia. Please feel free to reach out to me to guarantee the perfect room.

5 out of 5

Hotel monaco

Travelocity already billed us for our stay along with the hotel accidentally. The hotel staff was extremely apologetic and not only reimbursed us quickly but also gave us one nights of money back for parking. Great experience.

Posted by , from scranton pa on 5 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Aug. 2017 by Kayla

Great staff - I love your title! Thank you so much for staying with us. I'm terribly sorry for the mistake on our end. I'm very glad to hear that we were able to turn things around. I hope you can come back soon!

About the Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Location 433 Chestnut St., Philadelphia, PA 19106

Property Features

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia offers its guests a 24-hour fitness center and complimentary bicycles. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a snack bar/deli. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges. A free manager's reception is offered daily. A computer station is on site and WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. Event space at this hotel measures 13000 square feet (1208 square meters) and includes conference space. A rooftop terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia. Parking is available for a fee. This 4.5-star Philadelphia hotel is smoke free.

  • 268 guestrooms or units
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 13000 sq ft of conference space
  • 1208 sq m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Deli
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Refrigerator (on request)
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Philadelphia, PA (PHL-Philadelphia Intl.) (18.6 km / 11.5 mi)
  • Train station: Philadelphia Temple University Station (4.9 km / 3.1 mi)
  • Metro station: 5th St. Station (0.2 km / 0.1 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia offers 268 air-conditioned accommodations with iPod docking stations and minibars. Beds feature Frette Italian sheets, down comforters, and premium bedding. 42-inch LCD televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include bathrobes, designer toiletries, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Philadelphia hotel provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks, laptop-compatible safes, and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Refrigerators and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Minibar
  • IPod dock
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator available
  • Frette Italian linens
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

The hotel hosts a free manager's reception daily.

Red Owl Tavern - This restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Stratus Rooftop Bar - This rooftop bar specializes in American cuisine. Guests can enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Happy hour is offered.

24-hour room service is available.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 12:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 20.0 per stay.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property / stay dates).

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Pets allowed (no fees)

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 5 and USD 40 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 12.99 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 12.99 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 50.00 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 20.0 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Kimpton Monaco Philadelphia

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly using the information on your booking confirmation.