Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Wished pools were open later for kids. Hotel guide said they were open 8-8, but that wasn’t the case. Closed by 7. Don’t need all 7 open, maybe just o ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 30 Nov 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star all-inclusive property near Ecopark Kantun Chi, connected to a shopping center

Beachfront retreat

With a stay at this Xpu-Ha property, you'll be steps from Ecopark Kantun Chi and within a 15-minute walk of Cenote Cristalino. Xpu-ha Beach and Puerto Aventuras Golf Club are also within 2 miles (3 km).

All-inclusive

This all-inclusive property features a private beach, a full-service spa, and a water park. Enjoy a day at the beach snorkeling, or relax with sun loungers. Enjoy a meal in one of the 5 restaurants and perks like free buffet breakfast and free self parking.

Sofa beds, LCD TVs

The 414 guestrooms feature furnished balconies or patios, LCD TVs with satellite channels, and thoughtful touches like minibars (stocked with some free items) and bathrobes. Sofa beds, rainfall showerheads, and coffee/tea makers are also available.

Superior Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
C$268* Per night/room 30 Sep. - 1 Oct.

Superior Room - single occupancy

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Suite Oceanfront Premium Level - single occupancy

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Junior Suite Swim Up Premium Level

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront Premium Level

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront Premium Level - single occupancy

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive

Everyone (13) Couples (1) Family (3)
5 out of 5

Posted by on 16 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Mar. 2020 by The Management

Dear traveler, Thanks for your rating. Regards,

4 out of 5
Wished pools were open later for kids. Hotel guide said they were open 8-8, but that wasn’t the case. Closed by 7. Don’t need all 7 open, maybe just one. Not much to do at night for kids... mini golf at night cost money, bowling is extra too. Ping Pong, tennis, basketball, ect are all available during day only. Can check out items for an hour. Shows weren’t live in theater. Played videos. So Broadway night.. was a video of Frank Sinatra. Overall photos online were accurate. Nice place. Grounds are beautiful Rooms/bathrooms were a tad musty-mildew smelling. Probably bc hotel is completely open to elements and very humid out. Room ACs work hard.

Posted by on 30 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Dec. 2019 by The Management

Dear Guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló Maya Caribe hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. The Management

3 out of 5
The bartenders at the pool where not friendly we are people that tip ever time we order but they hardly even say thinks, very poor service at the pool bars to. To many kids hang out around the pool bars and jump off the stools there should be an age limit to be by the bar know need for kids to be there. The Captain Morgan bar and Strikers had the best bartenders friendly to everyone and fun. Hotel over all is nice but the kids at the bars is out of control. The food love the steak place and Tokyo to me the other places weren't good and that is just my opinion. Like how there is a lot of places around the pool with fast food to eat and Strikers.

Posted by on 8 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Sep. 2019 by Management

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Maya Caribe. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough, the team works daily to provide the best possible service to let our guests feel most valued and genuinely cared for. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards.

4 out of 5
There transportation to the airport was cancelled on us

Posted by on 25 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Jul. 2019 by Management

Dear Anonymous, First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Barceló for your vacations, we really appreciate the time you took for rate your stay with us. Please feel free to contact us in maya.caribe.jrec@barcelo.com in order to follow up your case with the transportation an check what happened with it. Best regards!

2 out of 5
The room size was average, but the house keeping was poor. They never restocked our fridge which was included in price. Service was not very good through out the all inclusive.

Posted by on 1 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2019 by Front desk Manager

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya Caribe and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

2 out of 5
*Check in took way to long, 45 minutes then another 2-3 hours for rooms to be ready. We had 2 rooms, 1 king & 1 with 2 beds. Ended up with 2 King rooms which was inconvenient for my family. *WiFi was limited to a time and location, of course during prime time beach/pool time . *No communication on activities we had to seek out ourself or came across entertainment by accident. *Restaurant's had limited availability and very strict on pants for men. The men could wear long sweatpants to supper but not dress shorts! *Bathrooms at pool where always out of toilet paper/paper towels. One day we where at the pool for 6 hours straight and the bathroom never had toilet or paper towels that whole time. *Buffet was so-so . Every buffet had same food over and over. The food did not agree with many of us . *This was a very disappointing resort for the money, we have traveled to several Mexico resorts cheaper and better. We will not be returning or stay at Barcelo location again.

Posted by on 7 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jan. 2019 by Front desk Manager

Dear Anonymous, We're sorry you did not experience your vacations as well as you expected - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know.

4 out of 5
The Barcelo Maya is a big resort. We booked the Caribe and was put in the Tropical when we checked in. The beach is the best thing about this resort. There are many activities to do at this resort. The buffets are not very good. The a la Carte restaurants are good, but book dinner reservations as soon as you get checked in. I recommend upgrading to the premium level when you check in.

Posted by , from Oregon on 17 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jun. 2018 by Management

Dear Sheila, Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We appreciate your feedback verymuch. Best regards.

3 out of 5
Bad smell in the room. Very dirty floor and furniture. Food in buffet was okay. Good entertainment and helpful staff.

Posted by on 28 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Mar. 2018 by Management

Dear guest, We appreciate your feedback, we will keep working to get better. Thank you!

3 out of 5

Beautiful location, subpar management

The beaches and overall presentation of the resort is great. Our room had issues with the plumbing (only scorching hot water at times, toilet constantly ran) and the toilet seat didn't stay up. Otherwise I had no complaints about the room. My main issue with the resort was how the lack of empathy from the Tokyo restaurant hostess and manager. (05/13/17)

Posted by on 16 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 May 2017 by Barcelo Maya Caribe

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We value your preference, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible. We will happy to pass your comment on to our japanish restaurant as a mean to improve its service. We look forward to serving you again. Regards,

4 out of 5

Great Family Resort

Pros: Great resort for a family vacation.
Location: Great location, beaches and near numerous activities outside of the resort. You don't need to leave, but we decided to take a taxi to Akumal
Great trip to Barcelo! Amazing beaches, friendly staff, clean rooms, activities galore. Our only complaint was the hotel was very busy so we were not able to schedule any dinner reservations. We were fine with the buffet - they did a great job.

Posted by , from Lincoln Nebraska on 20 Mar. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Mar. 2017 by Barceló Maya Caribe

Dear Nebraska, Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about Barcelo Maya Caribe, we are glad we have fulfilled your expectations and that you have enjoyed your vacation with us. We love your positive attitude towards our services, and we will be pleased to serve you again in the future.

About the Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive

Location Carr. Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juárez, Xpu-Ha, QROO 77750

All-inclusive Details

  • Kayaking included
  • Access to onsite clubs included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • 24-hour room service
  • Buffet and à la carte dining
  • Airport transfers not included
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Tennis included
  • Wireless Internet access not included
  • Volleyball included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Soccer (football) included
  • Childcare not included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Climbing wall included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Surcharge for room service
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Room service not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • Language classes/lessons included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Gratuities included
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • All food and beverages included
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Scuba lessons included
  • Minibar (all beverages included)
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • All land activities, and recreational facilities and equipment included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Simply walk outside to feel the sun on your face at the white sand beach. At Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive you can cool off in one of the 2 outdoor swimming pools and indulge in a pampering afternoon at the full-service spa. Free breakfast is available daily. There are 5 restaurants on site, along with a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 4 bars/lounges and a swim-up bar. Public spaces have free WiFi. This all-inclusive property also offers a water park (surcharge), a complimentary children's club, and a children's pool. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Xpu-Ha property.

  • 414 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • 5 dining venues
  • 4 bars or lounges
  • 12105 sq ft of conference space
  • 1125 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1999
  • Buffet breakfast (free)
  • Nightclub
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Deli
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • On private beach
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 2
  • Children's club (free)
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Playground on site
  • Sofa bed

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Cancun Intl. Airport (CUN) (79.2 km / 49.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive offers 414 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars (stocked with some free items) and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. Accommodations are furnished with single sofa beds and day beds. 32-inch LCD televisions come with premium satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations with rainfall showerheads, bathrobes, slippers, and complimentary toiletries. Business-friendly amenities include desks, complimentary newspapers, and phones. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea makers. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • Pull-out sofa bed
  • Stocked minibar (select free items)
  • Day bed
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free buffet breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM.

Caribe Buffet - This buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A children's menu is available.

Capitan Morgan Grill - This restaurant serves brunch and lunch. A children's menu is available.

La Fuente - This fine-dining restaurant specializes in Spanish cuisine and serves dinner only. Reservations are required.

Spa Services

  • Number of treatment rooms 25
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Reflexology
  • Sports massage
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

24-hour airport shuttle service is available on request. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

An airport shuttle service (surcharge) is available on request.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Airport transportation is offered on request 24 hours a day. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast and through room service.The property affirms that it adheres to the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) sanitization guidelines.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available through room service
  • gap period enforced between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Sanitation services: USD 1.5 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Airport shuttle fee: USD 123 per vehicle (one-way)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Barcelo Caribe
  • Barcelo Caribe Maya
  • Barcelo Maya Caribe
  • Barcelo Maya Caribe All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Caribe All Inclusive
  • Barcelo Maya Caribe Xpu-Ha
  • Caribe Barcelo
  • Barceló Maya Caribe All Inclusive
  • Barceló Maya Caribe Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Caribe All Inclusive Hotel Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Caribe All Inclusive Hotel
  • Barceló Maya Caribe All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Caribe All Inclusive All-inclusive property Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Caribe All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • Barceló Maya Caribe Inclusive
  • Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive All-inclusive property

You should know

  • Barceló Maya Caribe - All Inclusive offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the property before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing http://www.travelocity.ca/Xpu-Ha-Hotels-Barceló-Maya-Caribe---All-Inclusive.h1771738-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Xpu-Ha-Hotels-Barceló-Maya-Caribe---All-Inclusive.h1771738-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "http://www.travelocity.ca/Xpu-Ha-Hotels-Barceló-Maya-Caribe---All-Inclusive.h1771738-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&". java.io.IOException: Server returned HTTP response code: 400 for URL: http://www.travelocity.ca/Xpu-Ha-Hotels-Barceló-Maya-Caribe---All-Inclusive.h1771738-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.