Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Room was not ready at check in time. Towels in room's bathroom had holes in them. Lobby bathroom was flooded and not attended to. " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 07 Jul 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3-star eco-friendly hotel near Granville Street

City center stay

Within a 10-minute walk of this Downtown Vancouver hotel, you'll find Granville Street and Sunset Beach. St. Paul's Hospital and Orpheum Theater are also within half a mile (1 km).

Dining, sauna

This hotel features a restaurant, a fitness center, and a bar/lounge. Business travelers can take advantage of the free WiFi in public areas. Enjoy the a rooftop terrace and conveniences like a 24-hour front desk and laundry facilities.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 113 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Coffee/tea makers, free local calls, and hair dryers are also available. Housekeeping is available on request.

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
C$117* Per night/room 4 Mar. - 5 Mar.

Deluxe Studio, 2 Double Beds, Kitchenette

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub, City View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed, Kitchenette

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

GEC Granville Suites Downtown ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for GEC Granville Suites Downtown

Everyone (8) Couples (3) Family (3)
4 out of 5
Room was clean and comfortable, close to yaletown for dinning and a short cab ride to our concert.

Posted by on 13 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 May 2019 by AC

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites, and thank you for taking your time to write this feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we will see you again. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites.

5 out of 5
Nice facility in a prime location to see downtown Vancouver.

Posted by , from Vancouver Island on 3 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2019 by AC

Dear Michael, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites, and thank you for taking your time to write this feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we will see you again. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites.

3 out of 5
Good for the price. They gave me the king bed handicap room not that I needed or requested the handicap room. Bathroom was a bit smelly (urine) but I was too jet lagged to complain or change rooms . Front desk staff very good. Stored my bags for the day.

Posted by on 7 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Mar. 2019 by AC

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites, and thank you for taking your time to write this feedback. We are sorry for this inconvenience, thank you for letting us know. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 17 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Jul. 2019 by YL

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, GEC Granville Suites

3 out of 5
Room was not ready at check in time. Towels in room's bathroom had holes in them. Lobby bathroom was flooded and not attended to.

Posted by on 7 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2019 by YL

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you were not pleased with your stay. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team so we can look into this further and follow up. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites

2 out of 5
The main problem was that the room was not as clean as it should be. Housekeeping was inconsistent. On two of the days of our stay they didn't clean the sink. My socks got dirty walking on the floor. The toilet was running and they ignored two requests to fix it. I had to ask for a towel for my hair every day of the stay except two days when they left the extra one for me. Some days they didn't replenish the coffee or clean the coffee cup we had used. The gym was not clean. But on the plus side, the hotel is conveniently located, there were windows on two sides of the room with city views, and there was a water dispenser near the elevator for guests to fill water bottles and a laundry room.

Posted by on 29 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Jun. 2019 by YL

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you were not pleased with the cleanliness and maintenance issues of your room. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team so we can look into this further and follow up. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites

4 out of 5
All was generally well and the staff were very friendly and supportive. Only two concerns: Handle on the toilet was very loose and fell off it not used very gently and the linen closet outside the room was left open from Saturday afternoon until we left on Sunday with dirty sheets and towels spilling out onto the floor. We notified the front desk with respect to both issues.

Posted by on 26 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Feb. 2019 by AC

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites, and thank you for taking your time to write this feedback. We are sorry for thins inconvenience, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites.

3 out of 5
I liked the location of the property. I also like the style of the hotel. The front desk lady did not want to plunder our toilet for us. Very rude. She left a plunger in a bag outside our door on the floor, knocked and ran away.

Posted by on 19 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Feb. 2019 by AC

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites. We are sorry about any inconvenience. Unfortunately we do not have overnight housekeeping or maintenance. Our front desk agents are not qualified for non-office job, but they can provide supplies, and request issues to be resolved first thing in the morning. We are sorry for this inconvenience. Thank you for taking your time to write this feedback. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites.

4 out of 5
Excellent location for downtown Vancouver. No need to rent a car, we walked and bikes everywhere. Room was a little outdated, especially the bathrooms but really we only needed a place to crash out at night and it did the trick. The staff was really nice, they housed our bags until it was time to check in so we could walk around without them that day. They also were so nice to arrange a taxi cab for a ride to the airport early morning and called when it had arrived.

Posted by , from Santa Barbara, CA on 21 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Dec. 2018 by AC

Dear Emily, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites, and thank you for taking your time to write this feedback. We hope you had a pleasant stay and we will see you again. Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites.

2 out of 5
Thankfully they found us some different pillows because the ones we had on the first night were ridiculous. You have to request housekeeping, which is odd. The walls are very thin and there is quite a bit of outside noise. The room was clean and the bed was satisfactory. Wasn’t too bad but wouldn’t stay there again.

Posted by , from Vancouver on 19 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Nov. 2018 by AC

Dear Alison, Thank you for choosing GEC Granville Suites, and thank you for taking your time to write this feedback. We are sorry for this inconvenience. You do not have to request housekeeping everyday. The only time we ask our guests to request housekeeping service if it was refused before, or if there was a do not disturb sign on the door. In this case housekeepers will not come back unless front desk agent will notify them that you still want to get service for the same day. We also advise our guests to let us know if there are additional requests (extra pillows, partial cleaning, etc..). Kind regards, GEC Granville Suites.

About the GEC Granville Suites Downtown

Location 718 Drake St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 2W6

Property Features

GEC Granville Suites Downtown offers its guests a sauna and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. A rooftop terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and concierge services are also featured at the eco-friendly GEC Granville Suites Downtown. Parking is available for a fee. This 3-star Vancouver hotel is smoke free.

  • 113 guestrooms or units
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Train station: Vancouver Waterfront Station (1.7 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Metro station: Yaletown-Roundhouse Station (0.6 km / 0.4 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

GEC Granville Suites Downtown offers 113 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Cable television is provided. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Vancouver hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided on request.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

GEC Granville Suites Downtown has a restaurant on site.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 19

Special check-in instructions:

This property will place a credit card authorization for the full cost of stay for any bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for CAD 20.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Parking height restrictions apply (6.2 feet or 1.9 meters). The underground parking lot can only be accessed after checking-in. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property only accepts debit or credit cards and debit cards for all bookings and onsite payments. Cash is not accepted.

  • Parking height restrictions apply
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: CAD 25.20 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Rollaway bed fee: CAD 20.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • GEC Granville Hotel Vancouver
  • GEC Granville Hotel
  • GEC Granville Vancouver
  • GEC Granville
  • GEC Granville Suites Downtown Hotel Vancouver
  • GEC Granville Suites Downtown Hotel
  • GEC Granville Suites Downtown Vancouver
  • GEC Granville Suites
  • Gec Granville Suites Vancouver
  • GEC Granville Suites Downtown Hotel
  • GEC Granville Suites Downtown Vancouver
  • GEC Granville Suites Downtown Hotel Vancouver

You should know

  • Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Certain facilities might have restricted access. For details, you can contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Key Eco-Rating Program, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.

url importing https://www.travelocity.ca/Vancouver-Hotels-GEC-Granville-Suites-Downtown.h12840443-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.