Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.4 out of 5

"The hotel was very pleasing, the beach at the Barceló Maya Beach area was very nice, other locations were very rocky. The grounds were beautiful, the ... " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 23 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star all-inclusive property near Xpu-ha Beach, connected to a shopping center

Beachfront retreat

You'll find Ecopark Kantun Chi and Cenote Cristalino within a 15-minute walk of this Xpu-Ha property. Xpu-ha Beach and Bel Air Animal Park are also within 2 miles (3 km).

All-inclusive

This smoke-free property features a casino, a full-service spa, and a water park. Dine at the beachfront restaurant and relax with sun loungers. Bring the family and enjoy the free kid's club, children's pool, and playground.

WiFi, LCD TVs

The 630 guestrooms feature furnished balconies or patios, LCD TVs with satellite channels, and thoughtful touches like minibars (stocked with some free items) and bathrobes. Other amenities include WiFi, rainfall showerheads, and coffee/tea makers.

Superior Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
C$318* Per night/room 13 Dec. - 14 Dec.

Oceanfront Suite Premium Level

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, Oceanfront (Premium Level- Single occupancy)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Superior Room (Single occupancy)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront Premium Level

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront Premium Level - single occupancy

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive

Everyone (14) Couples (1) Family (5)
5 out of 5

Posted by on 6 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr. 2019 by Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We always strive to provide our guests with the highest levels of satisfaction and we are pleased to know that we achieve this goal with you. We hope to have you back very soon on your next vacation. Yours Truly, José Luis Serratos Sub Director Barceló Maya Beach

3 out of 5
The food was average at best. Lots of chicken nuggets, hamburgers hotdogs and nachos to choose from. Pool bar closed at 7p and pools at 8p. Other resorts have better food and better pool/bar hours.

Posted by on 22 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Oct. 2019 by Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló Maya Beach hotel. We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining expériences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Regards,

3 out of 5

Posted by on 29 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Aug. 2019 by Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know about your experience at Barceló Maya Beach. I’m sadden to hear your stay was anything less than memorable. I will share your valued review with our staff and Management, so we can ensure perfection. We hope you will grant us with a second visit, to make your stay extraordinary. Best regards, José Luis Serratos Sub Director Barceló Maya Beach

5 out of 5
Everything is wonderful, but the food is what we love more !!!

Posted by on 29 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jul. 2019 by José Luis Serratos

Dear Guest, First of all, we want to thank you for your comments after your recent visit with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations. Your opinion is very important to us, as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service. We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable. Yours Truly, José Luis Serratos Subdirector Barceló Maya Beach

5 out of 5
Staff were friendly. There was sooo much to do and see!

Posted by on 11 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Apr. 2019 by Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing your positive feedback after your recent stay at Barceló Maya Beach. It is overwhelming to our staff and I, knowing we were able to accomplish yet another wonderful vacation. We will be more that honor to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, José Luis Serratos Sub Director Barcelo Maya Beach

2 out of 5
As other reviewers mentioned, the property is beautiful and well kept. Rooms could use some upgrades (bathroom, TV). The main negative for us was the food: buffet restaurants had limited variety and menu basically did not change from one day to the other. Quality of the food also was far from what we expected: most of the food had no flavor and everything was poorly presented. Last year we stayed at Grand Palladium Kantenah and food was way better. They could use a couple more cooks preparing omelettes during breakfast and past at lunch instead of leaving a single cook struggling to attend everybody and creating long lines. The a-la-carte restaurants were not better: not many alternatives and same lack of flavors (we tried Trattoria, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto). Most of the desserts looked like they came straight from a box. Drinks weren't great either, with only local low-end liqueur available. Since most of the guests are international, it would be good to have staff that speaks English (even communicating with Guest Service was a challenge unless you speak some Spanish). Too many things not included in the all-inclusive package which ends up being annoying.

Posted by , from Miami, Florida on 29 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 May 2019 by Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued time and your review on your recent stay at Barceló Maya Beach. It is with great concern that I read your feedback about how we did not manage to exceed your expectations during your stay, please know that day by day each and every staff member puts very much effort in order to work hard and to accomplish your every needs, our goal is to make your holidays as perfect and memorable as they can possibly be. Please forgive us, for not being this the occasion. I truly hope you allow us another opportunity to welcome you and allow me to assure you that you will notice all the improvements we have made since your last stay and hopefully change the thought you have towards our Resort. Best Regards, José Luis Serratos Subdirector Barceló Maya Beach

3 out of 5
The view and the cleanliness of the hotel is awesome! The staff very helpful! Although the buffet food was absolutely horrible! It was a different theme but same food. You could tell it had been sitting there awhile. Not much flavor. It had a lot of different food that I noticed not a lot of people ate. The snack bar was better than the buffet. The restaurant had very good food, there wasn’t a fair warning to let us know they book up fast so that was an issue. The bugs were everywhere I know it’s an open resort but I don’t think they did much spraying to help prevent so many. I would recommend this resort if the food wasn’t so bad. Thats honestly what will stop my family and I from coming back. While purchasing the package we were also not told about having to pay for the bowling or water park or mini golf. They put it out to be as if it is all inclusive online. Then once you get there it’s very expensive for even a family of four to enjoy an activity. Beautiful place they need better details and food.

Posted by , from Des Moines, Iowa on 8 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Jul. 2018 by Manager

Dear Casandra, first of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach for your vacations. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards

4 out of 5

Wonderful Experience

Pros: The resort was huge, there were plenty of pools, rooms were clean, staff was very nice and most of the shows at night were very good.
Cons: Pool at our area was very quiet, could use music. 3 shows at night are all at the same time. Times should be staggered so that you could see 2 shows.
Location: We did not leave the resort.
The hotel was very pleasing, the beach at the Barceló Maya Beach area was very nice, other locations were very rocky. The grounds were beautiful, the pools were clean and very nice. The food at the specialty restaurants was excellent, otherwise it was just OK. The resort is huge, has its own mall, bowling alley, water park, dolphin park, and casino. Most shows at the theaters were very good and you had three shows each night to choose from. I would definitely return to this resort.

Posted by , from Pennsylvania on 23 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Mar. 2018 by manager

Dear Bev, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach hotel for your holidays in teh Riviera Maya and for the review you shared, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear. Regards

5 out of 5
Had a fantastic vacation. We were there 6 years ago and liked it very much then and found it to be even better now. Can't wait to return.

Posted by on 21 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Mar. 2018 by manager

Dear Anonymous, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach hotel for your holidays in the Riviera Maya and for the review you shared, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear. Regards

4 out of 5

Would definitely stay there again!

Pros: All the hotels felt beachfront and pool front. You weren't on the 12th floor of a hotel which is 100 yards from the pool.
Cons: Maintenance on the rooms was a little lacking - our safe didn't work properly, the screen door was torn, sliding door didn't lock.
Location: Almost everything you need to on-site - Dolphin Show, small mall, bowling, mini-golf, lots of pools, close beach, tour companies to schedule excusions
It was a great vacation. I have a 4 year old who loves pools and water slides. This place was perfect for that. We upgraded to the Premium Level which was worth the money. Our room was great - spacious, comfortable, great view, hot tub on balcony - however there were some odd maintenance issues (the hot tub knobs were broken, certain #s on the safe didn't work, etc), but those didn't ruin our trip. The food was pretty good (comparable to Beaches resorts) and the staff was very helpful. Getting restaurant reservations was an issue for some people but we ate early so not a big deal for us. The resort was sold out but didn't feel crowded which was nice. All the hotels are basically, beach-front and pool front. The beach has the softest sand. I remember the water being clearer in Cancun but still better than most. Everything that you need is onsite - Dolphin Show daily, mini-golf, bowling. Overall, we would gladly stay there again.

Posted by , from Philadelphia, PA on 2 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Jan. 2018 by Manager

Dear Cynthia, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya Beach hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in your review, all rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion and we regret not being immediatley informed at réception so as to be able to intervene in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay in our hotel. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Regards

About the Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive

Location Carr Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Xpu-Ha, QROO 77750

All-inclusive Details

  • Kayaking included
  • Access to onsite clubs included
  • Sailing included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • 24-hour room service
  • Buffet and à la carte dining
  • Airport transfers not included
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Tennis included
  • Wireless Internet access not included
  • Volleyball included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Soccer (football) included
  • Childcare not included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Snorkeling excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Surcharge for room service
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Room service not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • Language classes/lessons included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Gratuities included
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • All food and beverages included
  • Food and beverage restrictions apply
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Minibar (all beverages included)
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • All land activities, and recreational facilities and equipment included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. As a guest of Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive, you'll find a full-service spa, a water park (surcharge), and 2 outdoor swimming pools. There are 3 restaurants on site, along with a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 3 bars/lounges and a swim-up bar. A computer station is on site and WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. There's an onsite business center. Event space at this property measures 12109 square feet (1125 square meters) and includes a conference center. A casino, a children's pool, and a health club are also featured at the family-friendly Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive. An airport shuttle (available 24 hours) is available for a fee. Free self parking is available. This 4-star Xpu-Ha property is smoke free.

  • 630 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 3 buildings
  • 3 dining venues
  • 3 bars or lounges
  • 12109 sq ft of conference space
  • 1125 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1999
  • Casino
  • Nightclub
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Deli
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 2
  • Children's club (free)
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Playground on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Cancun, Quintana Roo (CUN-Cancun Intl.) (79.3 km / 49.3 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive offers 630 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars (stocked with some free items) and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. 32-inch LCD televisions come with premium satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations with rainfall showerheads, bathrobes, slippers, and complimentary toiletries. This Xpu-Ha property provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea makers. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • Stocked minibar (select free items)
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Beach Buffet - This buffet restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A children's menu is available.

Mexico Lindo - This fine-dining restaurant specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves dinner only. A children's menu is available. Reservations are required.

Rancho Grande - This beach restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves brunch and lunch. A children's menu is available.

Lobby Bar Beach - Onsite lobby lounge. Open 24 hours.

Spa Services

  • Number of treatment rooms 25
  • Outdoor treatment areas
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Sports massage
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

24-hour airport shuttle service is available on request. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

An airport shuttle service (surcharge) is available on request. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation after booking.

Airport transportation is offered on request 24 hours a day. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • One child stays free

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 12 per day (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 12 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Airport shuttle fee: USD 123 per vehicle (one-way)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Barcelo Beach Maya
  • Barcelo Maya All Inclusive
  • Barceló Maya Beach All Inclusive All-inclusive property Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Beach All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach Xpu-Ha
  • Maya Barcelo Beach
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive Hotel Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive Hotel
  • Barcelo Maya Beach Hotel Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach Hotel
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive
  • Barcelo Maya Inclusive Xpu Ha
  • Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive All-inclusive property Xpu-Ha

You should know

  • Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the property before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing https://www.travelocity.ca/Xpu-Ha-Hotels-Barceló-Maya-Beach---All-Inclusive.h804595-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.