Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"The hotel was very nice, the pool was huge and inviting. The hotel staff (except for the premium staff) could work on their customer service, includin ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 21 Jul 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star beach property near Xpu-ha Beach

Xpu-Ha retreat

You'll find Ecopark Kantun Chi and Cenote Cristalino within a 15-minute walk of this Xpu-Ha property. Xpu-ha Beach and Bel Air Animal Park are also within 2 miles (3 km).

All-inclusive

This all-inclusive property features a casino, a full-service spa, and a nightclub. Enjoy a day at the beach snorkeling, or relax with beach umbrellas. Bring the family and enjoy the free kid's club, children's pool, and playground.

WiFi, LCD TVs

The 478 guestrooms feature furnished balconies or patios, LCD TVs with digital channels, and thoughtful touches like minibars (stocked with some free items) and bathrobes. Other amenities include WiFi, room service, and coffee/tea makers.

Superior Room (2 adults)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
C$316* Per night/room 15 Dec. - 16 Dec.

Superior Room (2 adults + 2 children)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room (2 adults plus 1 child)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront Premium Level 4 adults

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room (4 Adults)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room (3 adults +1 child)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive

Everyone (16) Family (2)
5 out of 5
There is so much to do at this resort. We loved every moment we stayed at Barcelo. The beach and the pool where AWESOME! We traveled with our 2 boys (13 & 15 years old) and it was perfect for them too! We went during one of the busiest time of the year, but the resort was so big, it never felt crowded. Plenty of beach and pool chairs! The staff was so nice and the nightly entertainment was fun!

Posted by on 2 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Dec. 2019 by Barceló Maya Tropical

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for rating and your comments. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed all the activities we have to offer. We hope to have you back as our guests again in the near future, Barceló Maya Tropical

2 out of 5
We booked two properties up (Tropical), but when we checked in, we were put at an older property that cost less than what we paid (Caribe). The staff put our dinner reservations in, putting us at the same restaurant twice despite us asking for clarification and being told they had not. The beach condition was awful. It was so covered in seaweed that you could not swim or snorkel. For the amount of money we paid to be at the nicer property, we were significantly disappointed with our trip.

Posted by on 6 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Jun. 2019 by Barceló Maya Tropical

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time you took to provide us with your feedback. We have a program for Barceló Maya Grand Resort "Stay at 1 play at 4" we have four lobbies that are the same category Beach, Caribe, Colnial, and Tropical and reservations can be allocated in any of these lobbies as they are the same category and have access to the same services. We are sorry for any inconvenience that the lack of information might have caused and for the restaurante booking confusion. Kind regards,

1 out of 5
We booked this trip through Travelocity at Barcelo Maya Tropical but were immediately redirected to Barcelo Beach. When we came to Barcelo Beach and showed them proof of our booking at Tropical, they said nothing could be done about it. They said that Travelocity is responsible for booking and therefore this issue had to be addressed to Travelocity. Please mind that we wanted to stay in the Tropical as Tropical is more in the center of the resort and that's exactly where we wanted to be. Then the room they gave at Barcelo Beach had a few issues: there was no lock in the bathroom door, the toilet seat was broken, and the room had one king bed, one sofa for 1 person and no sleeping bed for our 2nd child. We requested one extra bed/or sofa/or sleeping chair or anything but after 2 hours of deliberations, begging and arguing the manager's response was "A king bed is good for 4 people. We do not sell rooms based on the number of sleeping people, we sell rooms based on category. Call Travelocity and blame them". We finally were transferred to the Tropical at the end of our 2nd day and we were "homeless" for 5 hours between the transfer. Lots of people at the resort had exact same issues. Other issues: very rocky beach, so little sand on the beach that you can see cement, if you like to play volleyball please be prepared for injuries as we saw everything from deep cuts to broken ankles due to uneven rocky surface. Food is basic, daytime entertainment is poor. Disappointed!!!

Posted by on 4 Dec. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Dec. 2018 by The Management.

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, The Management.

4 out of 5

Nice oceanfront room

The hotel was very nice, the pool was huge and inviting. The hotel staff (except for the premium staff) could work on their customer service, including the wet bar guys. Food was good and abundant but not rated 5 stars

Posted by on 21 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Jul. 2018 by Barceló Maya Tropical Manager

"We thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Tropical to spend your vacations and for the feedback of your recent holiday experience. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Looking forward to having you as our guest again in the near future, The Management."

5 out of 5

Flawless Spring Break All Inclusive!!

Pros: Convenience of buffet restaurants. Love the beaches! As many activities as you want to participate in, or just lounge by the pools/sea. Snorkeling!!!
Cons: The wait staff at A la Carte restaurants were dismissive and inattentive, found that the food was not superior to buffets, and servers even less.
Location: Beach! Snorkeling onsite with sea turtles in front of Maya Palace--awesome! Dolphin Discovery at Puerto Aventuras--unbelievably fantastic!
First full vacation booked through Travelocity--it was seamless and perfect All Inclusive family vacation for two adults and two teens! 2nd time at Barceló Maya, thoroughly enjoyed it, again! Nice that they've added double-decker busses for transport around all 5 hotels in the complex-still averaged 14k steps per day! Convenience of buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner made variable meal times a breeze! Wait staff was always very helpful and available at all buffets. For those reviewers that didn't care for seaside buffet offerings, my rebuttal would be "How much of the food would you have been able to prepare seaside for yourself?" Even if it was considered "standardized buffet food", there was always something for everyone to eat and drink, even for our traveler with extreme tomato allergy. And fantastic offerings at the Buffet Restaurants in each of the hotels with many cook to order options at no extra charge. Agree with postings on room humidity, we had to have maintenance adjust our room temperature setting down a couple degrees and that did the trick for comfort. Yes, if there is a south wind there will be seaweed on the shores, but it doesn't hinder the snorkeling and the hotel cleans it up most nights--not a deal breaker! Used Mexico Shuttle Service (private van) and followed a reviewer's advice to call confirm and arrival and departure times were punctually met. Save $$$ by booking excursions online before arrival for stay.

Posted by , from Minneapolis on 20 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Mar. 2018 by The Management

Dear Minnesota Erik, Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards, The Management.

3 out of 5
Pros: Hotel grounds were beautiful!
Cons: Staff, service, food
The hotel tried to "bait and switch" our room at the moment of check in. The hotel clerk tried to say that my reservation was at the Caribe vs Tropical until my husband pulled up the Travelocity info on his phone, then it became a totally different conversation. Spoke with another family later in the week that also booked month's ahead of time and had the same issue. Food was okay, same food every night in buffet. Reservations were only available after 9:00 a few days ahead. Air conditioning did not work properly.

Posted by , from Washington MI on 15 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Mar. 2018 by The Management

Dear Debbie, Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barceló Maya Tropical fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Barceló Maya Tropical hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. We would also like to confirm that we sell Barcelo Maya Grand as one resort as part of our Stay At 1 Play at 4 program that means your reservation can be allocated to any of the 4 hotels. We are sorry this was not clarified during your booking process. Kind regards, The Management.

1 out of 5

Bait & Switch

Pros: they can't honor a reservation that was done with months of anticipation, attitude of the staff, and lack of interest and care from senior management
Cons: Everything, they need a 101 course on tourism and hospitality
These people don't have any control or care about the reservations they receive and think they can just put customers on any bedroom or hotel they want upon arrival regardless of what the original reservation states. Upon arrival I was told that my original reservation made 4 months in advance for a two bed room in the Barcelo Maya Tropical was not possible as there were no rooms and that I was going to be sent to another hotel Barcelo Maya Colonial. The room we got at the Maya Colonial had one bed crawling with ants which had us to move to another room at midnight. Various attempts were made to talk to management and between the lies from the staff (stating that the managers where not around or available) or the leadership of this organization not caring for their customers we couldn't speak to anyone until after our checkout - still waiting for a response to a formal note sent to the Director of the Barcelo complex Rafael Median Reyes and seems that not even him cares about the customers

Posted by , from Chicago on 12 Jul. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Aug. 2017 by The Management

Dear AT user, We have received your comments regarding your recent stay at the Barceló Maya Grand Resort. Feedback from our guests is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations. We would like to let you know that the Hotels Barceló Tropical. Caribe, Colonial and Beach are in the same category, these Hotels share the same services, facilities and have four front desks to provide better services to all our guests. Unfortunately in this case, we did not have availability of rooms in the Tropical Hotel at the time of their arrival but your room was assigned in the same room category with the same services. We apologize for any inconveniences this might have caused. We regret reading that you found ants in your room. We have in place a regular pest-control plan and of course work hard on a daily basis to avoid their presence within our grounds; however due to the fact that we are surrounded by vegetation, the presence of insects is unfortunately unavoidable. We are deeply concerned to hear that you when you brought your concerns to our team they were not able to give you a fully satisfactory solution. We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future. Warm regards, The Management

4 out of 5

Nice and big hotel

Nice hotel and beach but the food was not the greatest

Posted by on 7 Jul. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Jul. 2017 by La Gerencia Barcelo Maya Tropical

Dear Anonymous , Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your highlight on the good value of our All Inclusive type of meal plan and for recommending this option to the travel community of Expedia. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

3 out of 5

Ok Hotel

Unfortunately for 3 out of the seven day stay we did not have AC in our rooms or the dining areas. The pool areas were kept clean as was the beach. The food was decent. Over all it was OK.

Posted by , from Minnesota on 1 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2017 by La Gerencia Barcelo Maya Tropical

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló Tropical hotel. We want to apologize for not being able to make you feel supported when having an issue with, we do our best to offer a caring and personalized service giving all the possible solutions to make sure you fully enjoy your stay among us. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

4 out of 5

Nice pool area!

I really enjoyed the pool being so close to the beach! It was a very easy hotel to navigate. The food was ok. There was a lot of activities to do on the resort, dolphins, water sports etc. the property is so big you never feel crowded. Overall a good vacation.

Posted by , from WI on 1 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2017 by La Gerencia Barcelo Maya Tropical

We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló tropical hotel for your holidays and for sharing your comments on your experience among us. At Barceló we strive to deliver an excellent service to our international clientele, therefore we always ensure that on every shift we have réceptionists able to communicate with all main nationalities represented by our guests, nevertheless we thank you for your constructive remark and will make sure to share your review with our head of departments for improvement Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

About the Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive

Location Carretera Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Xpu-Ha, QROO 77750

All-inclusive Details

  • Kayaking included
  • Access to onsite clubs included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • Buffet and à la carte dining
  • A la carte or gourmet dining is limited
  • Airport transfers not included
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Tennis included
  • Volleyball included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Childcare not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Miniature golf included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Gratuities included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • Food and beverage restrictions apply
  • One or more venues limit dining availability
  • Minibar (all beverages included)
  • Meals and drinks at companion properties included
  • All onsite activities, and facilities and equipment included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Unwind on the property's private beach. At Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive you can cool off in one of the 2 outdoor swimming pools and indulge in a pampering afternoon at the full-service spa. There are 4 restaurants on site, along with a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 4 bars/lounges and a swim-up bar. Public spaces have WiFi for a fee. This all-inclusive property also offers a complimentary children's club, a children's pool, and outdoor tennis courts. Free self parking is available. For a fee, the property may offer extended parking privileges after check-out. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Xpu-Ha property.

  • 478 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • 4 dining venues
  • 4 bars or lounges
  • 9999 sq ft of conference space
  • 929 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 2006
  • Casino
  • Nightclub
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Coffee shop
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 2
  • Children's club (free)
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Arcade/game room
  • Playground on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Cancun, Quintana Roo (CUN-Cancun Intl.) (79.1 km / 49.1 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive offers 478 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars (stocked with some free items) and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. LCD televisions come with premium digital channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, bathrobes, slippers, and complimentary toiletries. This Xpu-Ha property provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea makers. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • Stocked minibar (select free items)
  • Day bed
  • In-room dining
  • LCD television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive has 4 restaurants serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Room service is available.

Spa Services

  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Thai massage
  • Body treatments
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

24-hour airport shuttle service is available on request. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

An airport shuttle service (surcharge) is available on request. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation after booking.

Airport transportation is offered on request 24 hours a day. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 12 per day (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 12 per 24-hour period (1-device limit, rates may vary)
  • Airport shuttle fee: USD 123 per vehicle (one-way)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Barceló Maya Tropical All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • Barceló Maya Tropical All Inclusive
  • Barcelo Maya Tropical All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Tropical Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Tropical
  • Barcelo Tropical Maya
  • Maya Tropical
  • Maya Tropical Barcelo
  • Tropical Barcelo
  • Barcelo Maya Tropical All Inclusive Hotel Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Tropical All Inclusive Hotel
  • Barceló Maya Tropical All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Tropical All Inclusive
  • Barceló Maya Tropical Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Tropical Inclusi
  • Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive All-inclusive property

You should know

  • Barceló Maya Tropical - All Inclusive offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing https://www.travelocity.ca/Xpu-Ha-Hotels-Barceló-Maya-Tropical---All-Inclusive.h1348114-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.